The Alberta World Cup Society has created an annual award to support Alpine Insurance Alberta World Cup Academy athletes in their pursuit of cross-country ski goals and personal growth. This award will assist with some of the financial demands associated with preparing for provincial, national and international competitions, and or support the athletes while they pursue their sport and their academic goals and working careers.

Board of Directors:
“We wanted to honour Dale for his years of leadership, volunteerism and vision for the Alberta World Cup Society.  Dale was instrumental in bringing World Cup Nordic Cross Country Skiing to Canmore and is a founding member of the Alberta World Cup Society. His inspiration helped establish the Alberta World Cup Academy, one of the National Training Centres for Nordiq Canada. Dale has spent years volunteering in various roles within the Society Board and World Cup races and he continues to inspire many others to volunteer their time to support Canmore’s long tradition of hosting world cup events”.

The Dale Swanson Distinguished Athlete Award will recognize athletes’ work ethic and their personal values of perseverance and integrity. An athlete who represents the Academy does so not only through their skiing ability, but correspondingly through their leader- and mentorship, volunteerism, and giving back to their communities while on or off the snow.
AIAWCA will support up to two applications to a maximum of $2,500 each.

The decision on who will be granted this award will be taken by two board directors as well as a third, independent person yet to be confirmed.

This initiative is supported through Nordiq Canada’s, Club Donations Program.

If you would like to support the Dale Swanson Distinguished Athlete award, please go to Club Donations and choose ‘Alberta World Cup Society – Dale Swanson Fund’.
Contributions of $25 and more are eligible for a tax refund.

The application deadline for the first iteration of this award is March 31, 2023, and the chosen athlete(s) will be announced by April 30, 2023.